First Steps

Today I’ve decided to write a more personal post, about beginning something new.

(The picture isn’t relevant, I just like it.)
IMG_1166

This blog is something I’ve been meaning to start for a long time. I’ve had lists of ideas longer than my arm for what to write about, planned names and integration with social media, read blog after blog about how to stat blogging. I even set up this page in early January, made it one of my new years resolutions that I wrote down in my bullet journal, and every week resolved to write a blog post. But I didn’t.

It was this post that I wanted to write, but in an entirely different direction. Mine would have been one of a plethora of New Year posts about using this clean page to start a project you’ve always wanted to do, about how helpful blank slates are and how great it is to reflect on what’s come before, clear your mind, and use this constructed¬†newness of the year to begin. I couldn’t, it turned out the blank slate wasn’t helpful.

It took me until I’d stopped thinking about it, had other deadlines, was so busy that it was no longer a good time to actually write. I don’t know what sparked me. I’d had a bad day and nothing seemed to be going to plan, I was stuck with my poetry and so many worries were bouncing around in my head. And I just started to write.

I didn’t write about what I was thinking, I’m not going to use this as some sort of journal. I wrote about a walk I had loved, with someone I love. And the act of getting something down, refocusing my mind on something good, and getting something done did so much for my wellbeing that day. I went from a 4 to a 10 purely because I felt a sense of accomplishment. I had managed to do something I had been planning for months, years really. That felt really good.

So the point of this post, for anyone who has taken the time to read all this, is to start. I had intended this blog as a project for the new year that I would start in January, or start next week, or start next month. I am the type of person who needs a Monday for a blank slate. But when it really came down to it, I wrote towards the end of a crappy day in the middle of a week in the middle of a month. There doesn’t need to be a blank slate to begin.

Staring at a blank page can be really intimidating. Sometimes it’s best to start in the middle.

Hope you enjoy

xx

Leave a Reply

